Dealing with life is a piece of cake.

I’d like to tell you about my day!

Nothing necessarily spectacular happened, but it really was a good day.

After an incredibly lazy Saturday morning, my stomach decided to tell me I wasn’t just hungry, but I was starving. It sounded like an angry polar bear trapped inside my tum.

While sipping my coffee during breakfast at 2:30pm today (Yes, as in 2:30 in the afternoon. I told you I had a lazy morning…) I looked across the table at my breakfast companion and realized something…

I was so happy.

This past week was a nightmare, to say the least. It was one of those “It’s only TUESDAY?!?!” weeks.

But like I said, today, during breakfast, I was happy.

Good company changes everything.

I’ve known this. You know this. It’s not like I’m presenting you with brand new information. I’m just giving you a sweet little reminder that the best medicine is sitting at a diner with someone who will willingly carry on a conversation with you about the word “dollop” and its potential origins, old children’s shows we can’t remember the names of, and why sugar should or should not (which is the right answer, by the way) be added to every beverage.

Ridiculous, random, and slightly (okay…very) odd? To some, perhaps. But it was right up my alley. And I loved every second of it.

Despite my belated breakfast, believe it or not, I did actually have things to do today. But when I walked in the house around 4:30, my eye went straight to my brand-new madeleine pan that my wonderful mother bought for me at Williams-Sonoma yesterday. 🙂 She spoils me.

There was a recipe on the back.

(I think you know where this is headed…)

Yeah, those things I “had” to do? Postponed. The only thought running through my mind at that moment?

Must. Make. MADELEINES!!!!

So, I did. It was that simple. The recipe is even easier, and stuffing your face with them is even easier than that.

Sorry, spring break bod. I’ll start on you next week……maybe.

These madeleines are wonderful. Light, airy, and full of vanilla flavor. Dust them with some powdered sugar and you will be in sweet, delicate, cookie heaven — which, by the way, is an awesome place. You should really check it out.

For the first time in a long time I followed the recipe to a T, because:
a) I had never baked them before and
b) I had no idea how much altering I could do without changing the consistency of the cookie.

Now I know. So you can bet your baking booty I’ll be making these French delights again!

Madeleines
recipe from Williams-Sonoma

Softened unsalted butter for brushing molds
1/2 cup flour plus a little for dusting the molds
2 eggs
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
4 tbsp unsalted butter, melted and cooled
Powdered sugar for dusting

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

2. You can do this next step a few different ways. If your butter is soft enough, brush it into the molds making sure to cover every area and leaving no clumps. The other way, (how I did it) is you can use a paper towel, put some slightly softened butter on it, and spread it in each mold. I find that less frustrating and slightly more time-efficient. After the molds are buttered, lightly sprinkle flour in each mold, making sure each one is covered. Turn the pan upside-down and tap out any excess flour.

3. In a large bowl, combine eggs, granulated sugar, and salt using a hand mixer on medium-high speed. Beat for about 5 minutes, or until it is noticeably thicker, fluffy, and pale yellow. (You’ll know it’s fluffy because there will be a lot of air bubbles.)

4. Beat in vanilla.

5. Sift flour into the mixture and either stir or beat on low-speed until incorporated.

6. Fold in half of the melted butter, making sure to incorporate it completely. Repeat with second half.

7. Place a heaping tablespoon full of batter in each mold. This recipe makes a perfect amount for 16 cookies. (one pan’s worth)

8. Bake for 8-12 minutes, or until the cookie slightly bounces back when you touch it. The edges will also be golden. (Mine only took 8 minutes.)

This is a terrible picture, but this is should give you a general idea of what they look like when they’re done.

9. When baking time is complete, remove the cookies from the oven and flip the pan upside down on a wire rack. If a few cookies don’t fall out, use your finger to aid it.

10. Allow the cookies to cool for 10 minutes, then sprinkle with the powdered sugar.

11. Give them to everyone. Or like, 2 of your friends, because you’ll probably eat 14. (Let’s be real.)

Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

