Dealing with life is a piece of cake.

Have you ever thought to yourself, “Oh my gosh I want ice cream!” But then two seconds later think, “Blast! I am without an ice cream maker. No ice cream for me.”

No? You’re normal and just turn to the pros at DQ or Baskin Robbins?

…and don’t say “blast”?

Well I don’t function that way, people! And after today’s recipe, I’m pretty darn sure you’ll think twice before putting their ice cream before yours! Yes, yours! I bring these beautiful recipes to you so you can take credit for them and look like a flipping genius. I bring these to you because I love you and I want you to look smart.

This is truth.

Another truth?  My family loves ice cream. At least my dad’s side of the family loves ice cream. It’s serious business. You might be thinking “oh well everyone’s family loves ice cream.” Well let me correct you…your family does not love ice cream the same way that my family loves ice cream. It’s really weird. But weird in a totally awesome way, because let’s face it, it’s ice cream, not like…crack. Win.

So when my dad sends me a text that only reads “Great ice cream!!!!!!” I know I did something right.

Because this might be the easiest recipe I’ve ever put on here next to brown sugar, I really don’t see why you shouldn’t try this.

Impress people. You’ll look cool and there’s a high probability that you’ll make friends.

Read the recipe. Make the ice cream. Don’t lick the screen.

Loaded Mocha Ice Cream
base recipe from Kevin & Amanda

2 cups of heavy whipping cream
1 can of sweetened condensed milk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup brewed coffee, cooled
1 1/2 tsp smashed espresso beans
3/4 cup chocolate covered almonds
Smucker’s Magic Shell topping

1. Beat the whipping cream until stiff peaks form.
2. In a medium bowl, combine condensed milk and vanilla, coffee, espresso beans, and almonds.
3. Fold in whipped cream.
4. Add about a 1/2 tsp of Magic Shell topping.
5. Store in a tupperware container and place in the freezer.
6. After about an hour, remove the ice cream from the freezer and drizzle the Magic Shell topping on top. Do not mix. Let it freeze for another hour and then gently break the shell and mix in. Add more if desired. (Don’t be afraid to leave big chunks of it in there…that is definitely allowed…and encouraged.)

The total freeze time should be around 6 hours. Although around 5 it is like soft-serve, and if that’s what you like – grab a spoon!

I also made…

Reese’s Ice Cream!
(if you really thought I wouldn’t bring peanut butter cups into this, you clearly don’t know me at all…)

2 cups heavy whipping cream
1 can sweetened condensed milk
1 bag of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (not the giant bag, greedy people, the normal bag), chopped
1/4 cup fudge sauce

1. Beat whipping cream to stiff peaks.
2. Combine PB Cups and condensed milk in a medium bowl.
3. Fold in whipped cream slightly, drizzling fudge into the mixture between folds.
4. Freeze for 6 hours.

Do you know what the best part about this ice cream recipe is? You can add whatever you want. I mean it. What. ever. you. want. Go crazy!

And it’s officially October, which means a lot of candy is coming our way.

Snickers? Rad.

Milky Way? Genius.

Almond Joy? We’re quickly becoming life-long friends.

Or if you don’t feel like using candy, get creative! Perhaps add some cinnamon and baked apples…apple pie ice cream? Or maybe mix in some chocolate chips and pour in a little Bailey’s or Kahlua and make it a grown-up treat. I think yes.

You have free-range to add whatever your taste buds tell you is right thing to do. They’re usually spot-on. So I’m not even being bossy by telling you what to add! Woohoo!

Get in the kitchen!!!!! <— motivating, not bossy…

Bon appétit!

Comments on: "Ice cream, you scream!" (3)

  1. Wow, very creative! Looks good and sounds simple to make with many variations. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Amanda Rios said:

    OMG..uuugghhh is all I can say : )

Leave a Reply

