Dealing with life is a piece of cake.

"Nothing good ever happens after 2am." <-- Lies! (as of now)

What do you do at 2:16 am?

Watch  a movie?

Read a book?

Watch infomercials?

Seriously consider buying the products from the infomercials? (No?  Just me?)

Question life’s purpose?

Or the ever-so-popular….sleep?

Yeah, I usually sleep.

But lately, my mind doesn’t shut off at a decent hour.  So I do all of the above things.

(But let me be clear…I have not purchased a ridiculous infomercial product from television………yet.)

And after all of that, I make brown sugar!

Yes, I said make brown sugar.

It couldn’t be easier, honestly.

You need 3 things:

2 cups granulated sugar
2 1/2 tbsp unsulfured molasses
fork

You put the ingredients in a bowl…

Mix them all together with the fork…

And voila!  Brown sugar.

I’m not kidding. That’s it.  Add a dash of vanilla if you feel so inclined.  It turns out SO soft and fresh – I really think it’ll be difficult for me to justify ever buying brown sugar from the store now.

Now.  What to do with this delicious homemade treat?

Brown sugar cookies!

“Um, Kate, that sounds boring…”

Shh.  Just, shh.  Do not be fooled by its looks and spiritless name.  It’s simple.  No frills.  It is a tasty cookie.  A verrrrrrry tasty cookie.  And in the end, that’s really all that matters.

Perfectly sweet, perfectly buttery, perfectly soft, yet still perfectly crispy.  I am in love.

I’ve made sugar cookies before.  And I was quite clear to state that they’re not my fave.  These are different.  Brown sugar cookies totally own regular sugar cookies.  I might even put them up there with chocolate chip! <– (got carried away, but they are REALLY good!)

Make. these. now.

Brown Sugar Cookies

14 tbsp unsalted butter
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 cups packed brown sugar
2 cups plus 2 tbsp flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 tbsp vanilla extract

1. Adjust the oven rack to the middle position and preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. In a shallow dish (i.e. pie dish, small casserole dish, etc.) combine 1/4 cup of the brown sugar and the granulated sugar using your fingers until it is evenly combined. Set aside.

3. Melt 10 tbsp of the butter in a saucepan over medium heat.  Once melted, continue cooking the butter, swirling the pan constantly until it reaches a light brown color and has a slight nutty aroma (this should take about 2-3 minutes).  Remove the butter from heat and transfer the butter to a medium to large heat-proof bowl. Stir in the remaining 4 tbsp butter until completely melted.  Set aside to cool to room temperature.

4. While that cools, combine flour, baking soda, and baking powder in a bowl. Set aside.

5. Add the rest of the brown sugar and salt to the melted butter until completely combined.

6. Add egg and yolk and combine until completely incorporated. Add vanilla.

7. Fold in the flour mixture until completely combined. Do not over mix, just combine until you can no longer see flour.

8. Roll the dough into balls slightly larger than 1 inch. Lightly roll the ball of dough in the sugar mixture and set on the baking sheet, about 2 inches apart.

9. Bake for about 10-13 minutes. They will have a slightly cracked top with golden sides. Don’t over bake these, you’ll regret it. Allow to cool on the baking sheet for about 3 minutes.

P.S. I hate when I use the term “don’t over bake.” It’s so obvious. But I’m just trying to emphasize how important it is that these are soft.

I also cooled them on paper towels, not a wire rack. Why? Because I don’t want that air to circulate around my cookies, making them all crispy and crunchy and no fun.

I love crispy cookies too, but they have no business butting in on my beautiful soft cookies!

Bon appétit!

Comments on: "Good things DO happen after 2 a.m.!" (2)

  1. […] this might be the easiest recipe I’ve ever put on here next to brown sugar, I really don’t see why you shouldn’t try […]

  2. I am reading this now since I am wide awake at this hour for some reason! These cookies really look good, a nice change from the traditional white sugar cookie. Great tips on keeping your cookies soft. How I would love to have a few of these gems right now.

Leave a Reply

