Dealing with life is a piece of cake.

I have these moments every once in a while where I feel I need something more than a cupcake.

Yes, those moments exist. They are rare, but they do exist.

And because it was quite warm, and for whatever reason my fire alarm beeps whenever the apartment gets over 77 degrees, I figured that turning on the oven was not the smartest idea.

Yes, of course, these little treats are delicious, but more importantly they are fun to make!  You’re molding chocolate with balloons.  Come on, you know that’s pretty cool.  It feels like a party the whole time you’re in the kitchen.  It’s pretty sweet.  (Pun intended.)

The chocolate looks awesome, but it’s the filling that’s the real star.  It’s similar to cream cheese frosting, but lacking the firmness.  It’s more of a cream cheese frosting-custard (what?), minus the eggs.  So it’s obviously delicious.  And the best part?  There’s Bailey’s Irish Cream in it!

It is rich, tasty, and you certainly won’t find yourself thinking, “Where’s the Bailey’s?”  It’s there.  You taste it.  It’s good.

It’s no secret that chocolate cake, a good old-fashioned chocolate chip cookie, or a spoonful of peanut butter make me happy.  But one thing you don’t know about me, is that homemade whipped cream is one of my favorite things of all.  It reminds me of Thanksgiving, where my mom taught me how to make it several years ago, and now every year it’s my job to make it.  It’s practically the easiest thing to make, but I love that.  And now that I’m all grown up older I’m infusing the sweet innocent treat with booze.  Go figure.  It’s okay, my mom would approve of this.  I know it.  She is my mother, after all. 😉

The point of all this nostalgia is that I made whipped cream to top the dessert.  And although I only used but a smidge for each serving, it packs a punch.  Yes, it too contains the luxurious flavor of Bailey’s. I went all-out. No holding back. When it comes to something as delightful as Bailey’s, how could you possibly resist putting it in almost all aspects of the dessert?

Are you understanding that I love this liqueur?

So let’s recap:  It’s in a fancy little chocolate bowl, filled with Bailey’s cream cheese frosting/custard, and it’s topped with a dollop of Bailey’s whipped cream.

Where’s my spoon?!?

Bailey’s Cream Cheese Chocolate Cups

The chocolate cups

1 16oz pkg of chocolate (your choice – hint: use a high-quality dark chocolate; simply divine.
1 scant tsp veggie oil
1 pkg of small balloons (water balloons would work best)

1. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

2. Inflate the balloons. Set aside. If you are using balloons larger than water balloons, inflate them to about the size of a water balloon. It’s common sense, yeah?

3. Melt the chocolate in the microwaves, 30 seconds at a time. Stirring WELL between each interval. It should only take about 2 times for it to melt. Add the oil, and stir until smooth. Set aside to cool slightly.

Okay…this is the fun part!

4. Dip the rounded side of the balloon into the melted chocolate. Make sure there is a good, thick coating. Set the balloon round side down, on the parchment paper. It will stand up, don’t worry.

5. WAIT until the chocolate is completely cooled and hardened. You’ll know it’s completely dry when it has a matte finish.  You may also lightly touch it.  If it feels even slightly sticky, it needs to set longer.

Oh, and I lied before…THIS is the fun part!!

6. Pop the balloons! Just do it. You can poke them with a pin, cut the tops and watch them deflate, whatever! Just get the air out! Some of the balloon will stick to the chocolate, so just lightly tug and it should peel right off. Set the cups aside.

BUT MAKE SURE THEY ARE COMPLETELY DRY!

Feeling impatient?  So was I…

womp womp wooommmmppp 😦

Please learn from my mistakes. That’s why I’m here.

Do yourself and this dessert a favor and give your impatience the cold shoulder!

This is what it should look like!

Much better. 🙂  And don’t worry if the bowls don’t come out perfect.  If you’re feeling like a perfectionist you may even them out later with a knife.

Bailey’s Cream Cheese Filling

1/4 cup Bailey’s Irish Cream
16 oz cream cheese, room temperature
4 cups powdered sugar
2 tbsp heavy cream
2 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature

1. Beat cream cheese, butter, and sugar together until combined.

2. Add heavy cream, Bailey’s, and butter and beat until well combined and smooth.

3. Set in the refrigerator for 20-30 minutes to set.

Bailey’s Whipped Cream

3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
3 tbsp granulated sugar
1 1/2 tbsp Bailey’s Irish Cream

1. Beat the heavy cream on high until you can see that the cream is getting thicker. Do not over-beat at this stage. It should barely form a very soft peak.

2. Add sugar and beat until well incorporated, but do not over-beat. At this point, the cream should form soft peaks.

3. Add the Bailey’s, and beat on high until you reach desired consistency (about a minute or so). Be very careful not to over-beat the mixture, otherwise you’ll end up with chunks, or worse, with butter. Eww.

Fill the cups with the cream cheese custard and top with a dollop of whipped cream!

Bon appétit!

Comments on: "I hate to burst your bubble, but it’s so darn tasty!" (2)

  1. Terri Skinker said:

    I really, really want to try these – many of these!

  2. Tasha said:

    Awesome! I want to try this soon.

Leave a Reply

