Dealing with life is a piece of cake.

I find tofu scary. It’s just weird. I’m sure you agree. It absorbs any flavor you put with it, which is…odd. I have a hard time trusting food that doesn’t have a flavor of its own. Even the name sounds sketchy…tofu. Yeesh.

As a vegetarian, you’d think that I would be more accepting of the flavor-mooching food, but alas, time and time again I have a hard time getting myself to suck it up and eat it. There are a few dishes I’ve had at restaurants containing tofu that were nothing short of excellent…but when it comes to baking I’m nothing short of skeptical.

BUT…fear not, fellow bakers with tofuphobia! I have a wonderful, delicious recipe for you. Sure, it contains tofu, but once you get past that, you notice that it also contains great things like peanut butter and chocolate!

I made these little vegan treats for the birthday of a very dear friend of mine. She’s a recent college graduate from the University of Alabama, relocated across the country to Seattle, got herself a job, and was then accepted to the University of Washington School of Law. This girl’s got it goin’ on! For several years she’s shared my interest in unconventional lifestyles and beliefs (vegetarianism and Buddhism, for example) so I knew she’d appreciate a delicious vegan cookie. 🙂

And they are delicious. Let me tell you. Right out of the oven?

Yes. Freakin’. Please.

Set your tofu fears aside. Make these. Don’t tell people there is tofu in them until after they eat it. Yes, it’s kind of a dirty trick, but sometimes it’s fun to play tricks on people. And how dirty of a trick can it be if it involves eating cookies, right?!

Vegan Chocolate Cookies with Peanut Butter and Cinnamon

from Joy the Baker

1 stick vegan margarine (such as Earth Balance)
1 cup dark brown sugar
1/4 cup soft tofu, drained
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 tsp cinnamon

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. Beat the margarine, brown sugar, and tofu in a large bowl until completely smooth.

3. Add the peanut butter and vanilla.  Stir to combine.

4. In a medium bowl, sift the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.

5. Add the dry mixture to the wet mixture and stir to combine.

I made the dough a day in advance, covered it, and put it in the refrigerator overnight.  You may bake them ASAP, though.  Regardless of when you bake them, this is how you do it:

6. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and plop heaping tablespoons of dough about 1 1/2 – 2 inches apart.

7. Bake for 10-12 minutes, let cool for 5 minutes on the baking sheet, and either EAT right away (yum), or let them cool on a wire rack and send them to a very deserving birthday girl!

Comments on: "I found the cure for tofuphobia!" (2)

  1. holy mother! I had NO idea these had tofu in them…well played my friend, well played haha. loved the hint of peanut butter… 🙂 The Mohr’s loved them too! seriously what a lucky girl I am to have a best friend that ships her HOMEMADE vegan cookies for her birthday. i love you so much my dear…and I love sharing our unconventional hippie ideas ❤

  2. Tasha said:

    Now we’re talking! Something I’m actually good at baking! I can’t wait to try these cookies! I’m so inspired as I lean closer to a meatless diet Socalbakergal! And, I have a dirty little secret … I actually love tofu!!

Leave a Reply

