Dealing with life is a piece of cake.

I have to take a moment to brag, so bear with me. It’ll benefit you, don’t worry.

I’m going to Hawaii on June 9th.

I’m going to Hawaii on June 9th for 6 days.

I’m going to Hawaii on June 9th for 6 days with my amazing boyfriend.

I. am. so. excited.

You know the best part about Hawaii? I don’t have any responsibilities there. No work, no school, no rent, no bills, no nothin’, except sunshine and lots of ridiculously awesome tropical adult beverages.

So because I’m a cheeseball I decided to make something with island-ish ingredients.

It doesn’t get more tropical than coconut.

This is a Sugar Therapy original, and it tastes quite delicious. That’s some good news, people! But at the same time, this is a Sugar Therapy original…so there are a few kinks to work out. Totally fixable, though!

These cookies might look a little flat, but they’re full of flavor! The next time I make these (which I will) I’m going to up the rum (yep, rum), and make them thicker by adding a little more flour. I knew the batter looked thin, but did I do anything about it? Nope. Oh well. You bake and you learn.

They’re so good though. And you know what’s really weird? These are possibly the first cookies I’ve ever made that might just be better the next day instead of right out of the oven.

“What? Those kinds of cookies exist?” Mhm, they do!  But don’t be hesitant to try one ASAP, because let’s face it, you are baking and you do love cookies.

Island Cookies

1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temp
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp coconut sugar (you can use regular granulated sugar too, I was just feelin’ fancy)
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1 egg
3/4 tsp vanilla
3 tbsp pineapple rum (I used Captain Morgan Parrot Bay Pineapple Rum)
1/4 cup butterscotch chips
1/4 coconut flakes
a small handful of cashews
a small handful of sliced almonds
milk chocolate

1. Heat oven to 325 degrees, and line cookie sheet with parchment paper.

2. Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together in a medium bowl.

3. In a large bowl, beat butter with an electric mixer until fluffy and light in color.  It will take a while, so hang in there.

4. On medium-low speed, add sugars and beat until smooth (little to no grittiness).  Increase speed to high and beat mixture for about 3 minutes.

5. Add egg and vanilla.  Beat until incorporated.

6. Add rum.  Beat until incorporated.

7. Stir in the flour mixture with a spoon until everything is just blended.

8. Stir in the butterscotch, coconut, and nuts.

9. Form 1″ balls of dough and place 1 1/2″-2″ apart. Bake for 10 minutes. Cool on baking sheet for about 5 minutes, and transfer to wire rack.

10. Melt the milk chocolate and drizzle it on the cookies, as seen above.
Hint: Stir in a tiny bit of veggie or canola oil to the melted chocolate to keep it shiny. 🙂

One last thing.  Because I’m such a fan of substitutions, tweaks, and twists in baking recipes, I encourage anyone making these island goodies to add anything that sounds yummy.  Macadamia nuts, perhaps?  Maybe chocolate chunks for the chocoholic in your life?  Something I considered (but unfortunately didn’t have time for) was to soak the coconut in the rum, instead of adding it to the batter in liquid form.

These cookies have too much potential.  Start baking!

Aloha!

Leave a Reply

