Dealing with life is a piece of cake.

This &$%# is bananas, B-A-N-A-N-A-S.

And this &$%# is chocolatey, C-H-O-C-O-L-A-T-E-Y.

AND this &$%# is peanut-buttery, P-E-A-N-U-T-B-U-T-T-E-R-Y.

Too much?

Sorry.

Wait, no I’m not.

If you made this bread, tasted this bread, and then made french toast out of this bread a few days later (yes, I went there), you’d be destroying perfectly catchy Gwen Stefani songs too.

I wanted banana bread. I wanted chocolate. And I just so happened to have peanut butter in the house, so I threw some in there.

You can’t see it, but I’m giving myself a pat on the back. (Okay, I’m hugging myself…)

And if you like banana bread with chocolate chips and peanut butter….
I kindly ask BEG of you, use this bread for French toast!

I predict this is one of those things I’ll need when I’m in an “I need cheering up,” mood.

I just know what foods make me feel better.  I could probably guess what foods will make you feel better.  It’s a gift.  No big deal.

A new category for food perhaps(?): Feel-better foods for future frets.

Alliteration is fun…or should I say alliteration is awesome.

I’m rambling.

And I’ve officially gone b-a-n-a-n-a-s.  (damn you Gwen Stefani!)

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Banana Bread
(adapted from King Arthur Flour)

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
2/3 cup dark brown sugar, packed
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
3 medium bananas, ripened and mashed (the riper the better)
1/4 cup agave nectar (or honey if you prefer, but I love agave nectar)
2 large eggs
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup peanut butter

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees, and lightly grease a 9″x5″ loaf pan.

2. With an electric mixer, beat butter, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl.

3. Add bananas, eggs, agave nectar, and peanut butter and beat until smooth.

4. Beat in flour until just incorporated.

5. Stir in chocolate chips.

6. Pour batter into loaf pan. Sprinkle extra chocolate chips on the top. I also topped mine with raw sugar and cinnamon and drizzled some more agave nectar on the top.

7. Bake for 50 minutes to an hour, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. If the top is browning too quickly, cover the top with aluminum foil for the remainder of the baking time.

8. Let the bread cool for 10 minutes in the pan, and then remove it and let it cool the rest of the way on a wire rack.

It’s time for the amazing part. The French toast.

French toast batter
(enough for 2-3 pieces…because I’m selfish)

3 eggs
2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp heavy cream
1/2 tsp agave nectar (or honey)

1. Whisk ingredients together.

2. Dip a thickly cut piece of the banana bread in the batter, allowing it to soak just slightly on each side. Be careful not to let it sit in the batter for too long, or it’ll collapse…not cool.

3. On a heated griddle, cook the bread until browned on each side.

Tip: This is already sweet (duh). Powdered sugar really isn’t necessary, nor is syrup. However, it felt wrong to leave the toast alone on the plate, so I liiiiiiightly drizzled it with maple syrup and some Earth Balance Buttery Spread (because I’m very health conscious, ahem. –> It was a good decision. Warm banana bread with a hint of peanut butter, gooey chocolate, and a vanilla egg batter – wowza.

I would have taken a better picture, but I wanted to eat it immediately.

You’ll understand.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, right?

RIGHT.

Bon appétit!

Comments on: "Banana bread en français, s’il vous plaît!" (1)

  1. Omg. I love banana bread. and chocolate. and peanut butter.
    AND THEN YOU MADE FREAKIN’ FRENCH TOAST OUT OF ALL THAT? That’s insane…but in an amazing and delicious way!

Leave a Reply

