Dealing with life is a piece of cake.

I have so many things to tell you.

If you were here, I’d hand you a cookie, pour you a glass of wine and explain why I’ve been missing.

You’d give me a hug, hand me a cookie, and pour me a glass of wine. We’d talk for hours. We’d eat more cookies. We’d laugh, we’d cry, we would have a moment. And we’d eat more cookies. …and drink more wine.

Oh, how I wish I could invite all of you over and have this happen. It’s just not possible. I don’t have enough sugar for that many cookies.

But you are here, in a “there” sort of way. And I love that. So, thank you.

You know who is here in a “here” sort of way? My mom. She’s always here in a “here” sort of way. She would be even if she was on a different continent. She’s always there for me. Err…here for me. You know what I mean.

So what does one do when you’re slightly broke, and trying to save for a trip to Hawaii that’s happening in a month? Bake the cookies she’s been asking you to make since you started your blog, duh!

She loves these lemon cookies. And I love her. It works out.

I propose a toast. To moms – they somehow manage to unconditionally love their children despite the stupid crap they do, while having husbands and dealing with girl friend drama, and working 9-5 M-F, cooking incredible dinners, and somehow still remembering that an adorable set of salt and pepper shakers will make their daughter’s day better. (Oh, is that just me?) Moms rock. Cheers! *clink*

Love you, Mama!

Lemon Butter Cookies
adapted from The Cookie Bible

1/2 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 tsp grated lemon peel
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 pinch of salt

Additional sugar for top of cookies

1. Beat butter and sugar until creamy and light in color.

2. Beat in egg until fluffy.

3. Beat in flour, lemon juice, lemon peel, baking powder, and salt until just incorporated.

4. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate until firm. (I left mine overnight)

5. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

6. Roll out firmed dough to 1/4″ thickness on a well-floured surface. Do not forget to flour your surface, rolling-pin, and hands!!! The dough softens up fairly quickly.

7. Using a 3″ round cookie cutter (or the lip side of a drinking up) cut the dough, and transfer the cutouts to a lightly greased baking sheet. Sprinkle cookies with additional sugar. (I used raw sugar, but that’s just my preference. Feel free to use granulated sugar.)

8. Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until the bottom edges of the cookies are golden brown. The top of the cookie will be pale.

9. Cool for about a minute on the baking sheets and then transfer the cookies to wire racks.

10. Eat! ………………unless………………

……………you want to add a glaze! These cookies are amazing with or without the glaze, but I prefer with because it adds a lil sum’n sum’n to them. 😉

Easiest Lemon Glaze (Ever)

1 cup confectioner’s sugar
4 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp water

1. Whisk ingredients together until completely blended.

2. Taste it. If it’s too lemony for you, add more sugar. If it’s not lemony enough, add more lemon juice.

3. Drizzle on cookies.

4. Eat.

What? A broken one? What does one do in this situation?!

Dunk it in my coffee and eat it, of course! (darn, right?)

Happy Mom’s Day 🙂 xoxo

Comments on: "Moms rock. So do these cookies." (2)

  1. […] tried to look up suggestions on how to make a perfect compote. I simply looked at the recipe for my mom’s favorite lemon cookies and made it into a super moist, fresh, lemon cake. The flavor is perfect. The texture? Lighter than […]

  2. i LOVEEEEE LEMON FLAVORED ANYTHING!!! Thank you for once again adding a reason to come to your house randomly in the hopes of catching you mid-bake. We would do the aforementioned things only I would take two cookies and laugh… and take two and put them in my purse… See. I’d only steal like four! You wouldn’t even miss them :).

    ♥cheche

Leave a Reply

