Dealing with life is a piece of cake.

My mom has this theory that you can’t say the word “snickerdoodle” without smiling.  It’s pretty darn true.  And if the word alone doesn’t make you smile, the cookie itself will.  Something about the combination of cinnamon and sugar really speaks to the soul.  I don’t think I’ve ever met someone who didn’t like (if not love) the mix.  If you can look me straight in the face and tell me you don’t enjoy something as simple as cinnamon-sugar toast, I’ll deem you inhuman, and you will be shunned from my kitchen. Snickerdoodles are delicious, and everyone knows it.  Even you, person who didn’t smile at the silliest of words.

We had a potluck at work last week, and I knew I was going to bake something (of course), but I was having a little bit of trouble trying to figure out something that everyone would enjoy.  It needed to be attractive, because at a potluck, if it looks weird or gross, chances are it’ll get skipped. That’s sad, and I would never subject a poor innocent baked good of rejection.  It had to be simple, too.  Not just for taste preferences but for my own sake.  Trying to go through the process of baking cupcakes, allowing them to cool, making frosting, decorating the cakes, figuring out a way to package them up and still have them look presentable after transportation all after an 8-hour work day and getting home from class at 10pm and having work the next day at 6am is just unrealistic.

Cookies it is.  Simple cookies.

Since I just made sugar cookies, I couldn’t do that again.  Besides, if I didn’t have the time to “whip up” some cupcakes, I definitely wasn’t going to go through the sugar cookie process.  Nooo thank you.  And I recently made chocolate chip too, so that was out.

But there was another fan-favorite I hadn’t made yet: snickerdoodles!  Butter, cinnamon, sugar, yum.

I got this recipe from a book I just bought, Big Fat Cookies by Elinor Klivans.  I had never heard of this book before, but I saw the title and it was an instant purchase.  I’m pretty excited to make more recipes from it, especially since these turned out so well.

The cookies were a hit at the potluck, and I was able to sneak in a few z’s before work bright and early the next morning!  I was a very happy baker.

Cinnamon Sugar Snickerdoodles

2 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 3/4 cup sugar
1 tbsp ground cinnamon
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup vegetable shortening (Crisco)
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract

I didn’t have any almond extract, so I just added more vanilla (which I probably would have done anyway).

1. Position rack in the middle of the oven.  Preheat to 350 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

2. In a small bowl, stir together 1/4 cup of sugar and the cinnamon.  Set aside.
This is to taste – sort of. I’m not saying take a heaping spoonful of this and see if it has enough cinnamon for you. Just guesstimate. If you really like cinnamon, add more. If you want it less cinnomony, don’t add as much. It’s up to you. I wanted more cinnamon flavor, so I pretty much doubled what was instructed to use. 🙂

3. Sift the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl.  Set aside.

4. In a large bowl, beat butter, shortening, and 1 1/2 cups of the sugar with an electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy.

5. Add eggs, vanilla, and almond extract (if you have it) and beat until blended.

6. Add the flour mixture and beat on low-speed until just incorporated.

7. Using an ice cream scoop or a measuring cup with a 1/4 cup capacity, scoop out portions of dough.
This part is literally for big, fat cookies.  I was baking for over 30 people, so I needed my cookies to be a little smaller.

8. Roll each scoop between your hands, forming a smooth ball.  Then roll the ball of dough in the cinnamon-sugar mixture.  Make sure to coat it evenly, and place the coated cookies about 3 inches apart on the prepared cookie sheet.

9. Bake until the edges are golden, about 18 minutes.  If you made them smaller (or normal-sized) like I did, bake for about 10 minutes.  Cool the cookies for about 5 minutes on the pan and transfer to a wire rack.

 

These cookies the bomb-diggity when they come out of the oven.  I practically had to gate off the kitchen to keep my boyfriend from eating his rationed 2 cookies.  Poor guy, I guess it’s not fair to bake things like snickerdoodles in our kitchen and not let him have any.  I’m sure he’ll survive, though.  After all, he gets dibs on everything else that comes out of the oven.  Yeah…he’ll be fine.

Bon appétit!

 

Comments on: "I dare you not to smile!" (3)

  1. […] Easiest cookie ever. Next to snickerdoodles, her other favorite. She’s easy to […]

  2. OH dear. I am.. Okay how do I saw this Kate? I am NOT a huge fan of the snickerdoodle. It’s not the cookie its me. I took a bite of snickerdoodle years ago and I got sick that day and well.. I kinda you know.. with the toilet… and my mouth… So the thouse of snickerdoodle is associated with that incident and the action that happened above the toilet..

    However I recently had a snickerdoodle from my favorite vegan/vegetarian spot AVANTI and LOVE LOVE LOVED mine. He hads black pepper and salt to his batch which makes them somehow EXTRA EXTRA sweet and cinnamony..

    But… Later that night I got sick.. and well..

    Yeah.

    So please don’t shun me from your kitchen. It is not that I do not like the cookie but that for some reason the cookie does not like me.

    Nonetheless yours look scrumptious!! As always. I want to be your boyfriend. Okay that didn’t come out right. I just want first dibs. haha

    ♥cheche

  3. Tasha said:

    Great Bolg! These cookies look simple and delicious, just my speed.

Leave a Reply

