Dealing with life is a piece of cake.

Well folks, this is a very exciting event…my very first blog post!  It took me quite awhile to choose a name, and the page still needs some work, but I just couldn’t wait any longer.  So, with further adieu, allow me to introduce a very delicious friend of mine: the Mojito Cupcake!  The thought of this cupcake came to me a few weeks ago, and I immediately Googled it, and decided on this recipe from one of my favorite blogs, Cream Puffs in Venice. I ended up making my own frosting and I will admit to adding more rum to the syrup and cupcake than the recipes call for (and I highly recommend you do the same). My side comments are in italics. Enjoy!

Mojito Cupcakes with Lime-Rum Cream Cheese Frosting

The Cupcake:

1 cup buttermilk, at room temperature
1 tbsp. dark rum (I used 2 tbsp. of Captain Morgan rum)
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract (I used about 1 tsp.)
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1 cup butter, at room temperature
2 cups sugar
4 large eggs, at room temperature

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Place a rack in the center of the oven.

Combine the buttermilk, rum, and vanilla extract and set the mixture aside.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Sift and then set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the butter and sugar. Mix on medium-high speed until light and fluffy (about 4 to 5 minutes).

I am a struggling college student, so I don’t have the money for a fancy stand mixer. Instead I used my handy-dandy electric hand mixer that I bought for $10 on Black Friday. It worked just fine, thank you very much. 🙂

Reduce the speed to low, and add the eggs one at a time. Scrape down the sides of the bowl after each addition.

With the mixer still on low speed, add 1/3 of the dry ingredients and mix well.

Add half of the buttermilk mixture and mix well, scraping down the sides of the bowl if necessary. Mix for a minute or two.

Add another third of the dry ingredients (on low speed) and mix well.

Add the remainder of the buttermilk mixture, once again scraping down the sides of the bowl if necessary. Mix for another minute or two.

Add the remainder of the dry ingredients (on low speed) and mix for a minute or two, until the batter is smooth. Scrape down the sides of the bowl to ensure that all of the flour has been incorporated.

Fill the cupcakes halfway with batter until you’ve used it all up.

Bake the cupcakes for 25 minutes and then test for doneness by inserting a cake tester into the centre of the cupcakes. If it comes out clean, they’re done. If not, bake for another 5 minutes.

My oven runs a little hot, so my cupcakes came out perfect at 24 minutes.

Remove the cupcakes from the oven and let cool for 5 minutes before poking holes in them with a skewer or toothpick. Immediately spoon the rum syrup over the warm cupcakes and let them soak it all up. Once they’ve cooled completely, you can ice them with the lime and rum frosting.

The Rum Syrup:

1 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup dark rum
2 or 3 pieces of lime zest
a few sprigs of fresh mint

For the syrup, I added about 2 tbsp. of lime zest, a few squeezes of lime juice, and about 4 mint leaves. I really wanted a prominent mint and lime flavor that the cake would absorb.

In a small pot, combine the sugar, water and butter over medium-high heat.

Bring the mixture to a boil, stirring often.

Once the butter has completely melted and the sugar has dissolved, remove from the heat.

Carefully add the rum. The mixture will bubble and spurt so take care not to burn yourself.

Once you’ve mixed in all the rum, add the lime zest and mint and let the syrup infuse for 5 minutes before spooning over the cupcakes.

This next part is all me, and I’m so glad I went with it, it turned out delicious!

The Lime-Rum Cream Cheese Frosting:

8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1 cup of heavy whipping cream
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp lime juice
1 1/2 tbsp rum
1/2 tsp of grated lime zest

With an electric mixer (or stand mixer if you’re so privileged) whip the heavy cream on high until it begins to form soft peaks.
Add the vanilla and sugar and continue to whip until evenly blended and smooth. Taste it. I mean it, taste it! If it’s not quite sweet enough for you, add a little more sugar.
Add the lime juice, rum and zest. Continue mixing until blended.
Finally, add the cream cheese. Blend on medium to low until the frosting is thick and creamy.
The end result should resemble a thick whipped cream. Yum!

Even though it’s January, this was a very refreshing cupcake that might be even better during the summer. I believe my boyfriend’s exact words were, “I think these are the best cupcakes you’ve ever made.” But don’t take his word for it, try them out!

Comments on: "Hola, Mr. Mojito!" (9)

  1. Lauri said:

    Kate, how many holes do you poke in the tops before you add the syrup? One, a few, a lot?

  2. Irene said:

    I’m in no way a fan of Mohitos, but daaaang, girl! I want to gobble down the picture, let alone a REAL one.
    Congrats on the blog – it ROCKS! ❤

  3. Joelle said:

    very, very cute blog!!

  4. Lauri said:

    I am SO making these! I have never wanted a cupcake so much in my life!

  5. Tasha said:

    Wow! The thought of a cupcake is enough to get my tastebuds excited but when I think of combining a mojito in the mix I darn there lose control and rush to albertsons to grab ingredients to create these tasty treats.:) I can’t wait to try this recipe and I look very much forward to much more Sugar Therapy.

  6. your blog rocks. love your about me. love everything. do you ship these cupcakes to tuscaloosa, alabama? what’s your going rate? haha very nice job Kate 🙂

  7. Terri said:

    Wonderful blog – I love the humor, plus you made me want to taste these cupcakes in the worst way – and I don’t even like Mojitos!

  8. Those look really tasty 😉 Congratulation on your new blog. I can’t wait to read more of those recipes.

Leave a Reply

