Dealing with life is a piece of cake.

The first bite of a s’more is quite an experience.  The graham cracker begins to crumble, marshmallow is oozing out the sides all over your hands, and the chocolate snaps in a piece that is way too big for your bite.  You’re a mess, and it’s amazing.  Napkins are for wimps – you take bite after bite until that delicious treat is in your stomach, and there’s no question what to do next: reach for another marshmallow to roast.

It’s a classic dessert that pleases taste buds of all ages.  I think that’s what I like most about them.  Everyone likes them!  The nostalgia attached to them is a treat in itself.  I can’t think of too many other foods that bring me back to childhood quite like a s’more does.  If you’re a weirdo who doesn’t know what a s’more is, Google it.  If you’re a super-weirdo who doesn’t like them at all, you should probably stop reading, like, right now.  I mean it.  Because you’re not going to like what I have planned here.

There are TONS of variations of the s’more. Meet Me in the Kitchen’s page on s’mores had me mesmerized the first time I read it. Andes Mints? Are you kidding me? Wow. Genius.

But you know what? I’m one of those people who cannot be satisfied until I try something myself. I knew there was something missing in this great combination of flavors. I wanted something s’more!  (Sorry, I had to.)

What was missing? Butter, sugar, and flour of course! I made S’mores Cupcakes, and they are so good.  There are a lot of recipes for this out there, believe it or not.  But there wasn’t one in particular that I liked so much that I wanted to follow the directions (big shocker, I know).  So I found a new chocolate cake recipe (from 6bittersweets, made my own graham cracker crust, and made my own frosting.  Trust me when I say this, considering the fact that I have made my fair share of cupcakes, these babies are good.

Next time, I will probably try a meringue frosting, so I can torch it to make a “roasted marshmallow” look.  But the frosting I used is perfect, so I’m fine with it for now.  The best part about these cupcakes is  the fact that they hit all the points a s’more does.  A graham cracker crust at the bottom, chocolate cake, another layer of graham cracker crust, and then topped with a marshmallow buttercream.  Ohhhh dear.

S’mores Cupcakes

Graham Cracker Crust

1 cup graham cracker crumbs
1/4 cup granulated sugar
5 tbsp butter, melted
1 oz semisweet chocolate

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and line muffin pan with cupcake papers.

2. Mix crumbs, sugar, and butter in a medium bowl until combined.

3.  Place about 1 tbsp of the mixture in each prepared muffin cup, and press down on the crumbs to form a firm crust.  Set remaining mixture aside.

4. Chop and/or shave the semisweet chocolate and sprinkle on the crust.

5. Bake in the oven for 5 minutes.  Remove from the oven and set aside.

Chocolate Cupcakes

1 cup + 1 tbsp granulated sugar
3/4 cup + 2 tbsp flour
7 tbsp cocoa powder
3/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 large egg
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup boiling water

1. Sift the sugar, flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together into a large bowl. Mix these together until evenly combined.

2. In a separate large bowl, mix together the egg, milk, oil, and vanilla.

3. Add the liquid mixture into the flour mixture and beat on medium speed for 30 seconds. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and continue mixing on medium speed for 1 to 2 minutes. (While I was doing this, I began to boil my water)

4. Add boiling water and stir to combine.

5. Fill graham cracker crusted-cupcake pan with batter 2/3 full.

6. Use remaining graham cracker mixture and sprinkle on top of the unbaked batter.  Lightly press with your hand to secure the crumbs.

7. Bake for about 18 minutes, or until the tops are firm and an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

8. Let cool in the pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes, then remove cakes and place on a wire rack.  Allow the cupcakes to cool completely before frosting.

They look so good, it’s almost tempting not to frost them!

…yeah right.  Bring on the marshmallow!

Marshmallow Buttercream

1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup powdered sugar, sifted
1/4 cup marshmallow fluff

1. With an electric mixer, beat cream on high until soft peaks form.

2. Add vanilla and sugar and beat until well combined.  The texture should still be firm, similar to whipped cream.

3.  Add marshmallow fluff, beating on high until smooth and completely incorporated.  Feel free to add more fluff, but I felt this was the proper amount of sweetness.

All I have to say is these little guys are trouble.  In the best way possible of course.

One is not enough, there’s always room for s’more!

(another bad pun)

Enjoy!

Comments on: "S’more than a cupcake" (1)

  1. I would love to dip that cupcake in melted chocolate and devour it. LoL oh my. I am quite tempted to kidnap you Kate. Kidnap you and force you to bake me some darn cupcakes! LoL… And then I would of course take you home afterwards.. But it would be a much needed abduction.

    Love you

    ♥cheche

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 393 other followers

